Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
I want to:   

What's New?

Become an Organ Donor by Checking the Box on Your Driver’s License Application

Want to save a life?

Become an organ donor when you apply for or renew your Minnesota driver’s license. All you have to do is check the box on the application, and “donor” will be added to your driver’s license or ID card.

At the end of last year, more than 2.4 million Minnesota driver’s license and ID holders were registered as donors.

Motorcycle Training Courses: Knowledge is Power

A motorcycle rider navigates a training course.There’s nothing like opening up that bike on an open stretch of road in the summertime. But whether this is your first year as a motorcyclist, or you’re an old hand at riding, there’s a motorcycle training course for you that can help make your rides safer and more enjoyable.

You don’t have to be a beginner to benefit from a motorcycle training course at one of the 28 locations throughout Minnesota. There are intermediate, advanced, and expert courses available too.

Read this recent DPS Blog post to learn about the training courses and how to sign up.

​Know What’s Below. Call Before You Dig.

Big yard projects planned for this summer?

Don’t forget one important first step — calling 811 before you dig. Not only is it the law in Minnesota, but with 60,000 miles of pipelines underground in the state, chances are pretty good there’s something under your yard.

If you’re digging up old bushes or trees or planting something that requires a hole more than a few inches deep, you should plan ahead several days, call 811 two business days before you dig and let a specialist come mark the utilities in your yard. You may also submit a ticket online.

​Your Decisions Can Make Minnesota Roads Safer This Summer

Photo of a car crash scene.Minnesota is in the midst of the deadliest 100 days on the road, but it doesn’t have to be.

The decisions you make can help prevent a tragedy. You can put on your seat belt. You can go the speed limit. You can put down your phone.

Learn why Memorial Day to Labor Day is such a deadly time on Minnesota roads and increase your chances of having a safe, crash-free summer by following the tips in a recent DPS Blog post.

Featured Video

Video Description: Three State Patrol troopers jumped into action to make a life-saving blood delivery after a routine cesarean section turned into a life-threatening situation for Lisa Jaeger.